Last year, Google released an app for Android which lets your family and close friends know if you are safe. This feature is called Trusted Contacts, and it shares your phone status with the people you choose, just like Facebook’s Safety Check. Now, Google decided to bring this service on iOS as well.
How does Trusted Contacts work?
There might be moments when your close ones get worried about you, and want to make sure you are okay. Trusted Contacts is an app which lets them check on your phone status and your location, and see if everything is alright.
Therefore, if you keep your phone on and moving, they can see it and know nothing happened to you. This is suitable when you might be in the middle of an event which doesn’t allow you to call your loved ones, but still want them to know you are safe.
Your phone might run out of battery, but Trusted Contacts can still pick up your location and share it with those friends who check up on your account. Also, you can send certain messages to some people. For instance, you can notify them when you are on your way home at night, and then close the app as soon as you get home.
New features on the Android version
Apart from introducing the app to iOS, it also brought some new features on Android. Now, you can set up the time it will send your location to your trusted contacts after you lose signal. Also, you can add contacts to your list just by using their phone number or email. Then, the app can send them a message, and clicking on it will take them to the app, where they can get info about you.
In the end, Trusted Contacts also received a series of nine new languages. These include Urdu, Greek, and Persian. Now, the app has a total of 25 languages in which it will display information and assure people their loved ones are safe.
Image Source: Flickr